Logo Clos 58 Chargement

CLOS 58

Vines, Wines, and
above all else, Friends.

GREAT WINE OF ROUSSILLON
Clos 58 Cote Du Roussillon Caramany

ORIGINS

At the end of 2018, Clos 58 was born ! However one doesn’t become a winegrower overnight ! Far from our formal and codified former professional lives, we have learnt to listen to Nature and to take time to observe, analyse and understand the grapevine, a temperamental and generous vine. What a bliss to witness Nature at work ! What excitement to practice the alchemy of blending, to marvel at the magic of ageing, to behold the evolution of the living wine.

Clos 58 Roussillon Caramany Separateur

6 friends,
1 team

Clos 58 is first and foremost the story of friends: both Sylvie, Victoire, Gilles, Christophe and Marc. Six mates who met long, long ago… far, far away from the vineyards of Cassagnes !

Marc Clos 58

Marc

Christophe Clos 58

Christophe

Portrait Marc Clos 58

Gilles

Sylvie Clos 58

Sylvie

Victoire Clos 58

Victoire

Sylvie Clos 58

Sylvie

Logo Clos 58 Chargement
Clos 58 Cote Du Roussillon Caramany

ONE GOAL

Our goal is simple: promote the fruits from the Caramany terroir.

Here, at Clos 58, nothing is left to chance: plot selection, harvest and separate winemaking for each plot, controlled fermentation, tank and barrel ageing… We want to preserve the expression of the original fruit at all cost, and extract its essence to shape exceptional wines, translating the uniqueness of our terroir from which comes the complexity of our wines.

Our cuvées are the result of true craftsmanship. We try to control the whole process, from the land to the bottle. Well, we think we have control ! Because, every time, the unforeseen takes over, the plants decide, the grapes express themselves, the wine is disclosed… Nature stays at the helm. In the end, this is the most beautiful part of our new job.

BACK TO BASICS

For us, wine is a space of freedom, of creation,of innovation and of sharing to express our drive to go back to basics, to Nature and to the pleasure of simple things. Making wine for the sake of making wine was not our goal. We shape our wines guided by instinct, they are charming, powerful and vibrant. Clos 58 allows us to contribute to the mutation of the world of winemaking.

BETWEEN TRADITION
AND INNOVATION

Growing our vineyards respecting the environment was just obvious. Our agricultural practices were developed by centering them around the environment and as such are sustainable, ecologically committed and durable. They are the perfect mix of tradition and innovation to allow us to preserve soils, rivers and of course biodiversity.

We want to develop a modern vineyards management that reflects organic agriculture with one motto: give Nature a chance without rushing it up and with the least human intervention possible. We only accompany the cycle of the grapevine. We took inspiration for our practices from biodynamic agriculture. Each step of making our wines is planned to be in osmosis with the surrounding environment in order to best translate the expression of our terroir. Exceptional wines reflecting our adventure, our Clos 58.

Menu

Logo Clos 58 Chargement

CLOS 58

Des vignes, du vin, et
surtout des copains

GRANDS VINS DU ROUSSILLON
Clos 58 Cote Du Roussillon Caramany

LA GENÈSE

Fin 2018, Clos 58 était né ! Néanmoins, on ne s’improvise pas vignerons du jour au lendemain ! Bien loin du formalisme et des conventions de nos vies professionnelles antérieures, nous avons appris à écouter la nature et prendre le temps d’observer, d’analyser et de comprendre cette liane capricieuse et prolifique qu’est la vigne. Quel plaisir de pouvoir admirer la nature faire son oeuvre ! Quelle excitation de s’adonner à l’alchimie de l’assemblage, de s’émerveiller de la magie de l’élevage, de contempler l’évolution de ce vin vivant !

Clos 58 Roussillon Caramany Separateur

6 copains,
1 équipe

Clos 58 c’est avant tout une histoire de copains; les deux Sylvie, Victoire, Gilles, Christophe et Marc. Six acolytes rencontrés il y a longtemps, très longtemps… et bien loin des vignes de Cassagnes !

Portrait Marc Clos 58

Marc

Portrait Christophe Clos 58

Christophe

Portrait Gilles Clos 58

Gilles

Portrait Sylvie Clos 58

Sylvie

Victoire Portrait Clos 58

Victoire

Portrait Sylvie Clos 58

Sylvie

Logo Clos 58 Chargement
Clos 58 Cote Du Roussillon Caramany

UNE AMBITION

Notre ambition est simple : valoriser les fruits du terroir Caramany.
Ici, au Clos 58, rien n’est laissé au hasard : sélection des parcelles, vendanges et vinifications différenciées pour chacune d’entre elles, contrôle des fermentations, élevage en cuves et en fûts… Nous voulons à tout prix préserver l’expression du fruit originel et en extraire son essence pour façonner des vins d’exception traduisant la typicité de notre terroir qui fait la richesse de nos vins.

Nos cuvées sont le fruit d’un véritable travail artisanal. Nous essayons de maîtriser l’ensemble du processus, de la terre à la mise en flacon. Enfin, on croit maîtriser ! Car à chaque fois, c’est l’imprévu qui prend le dessus, la vigne qui décide, le raisin qui s’exprime, puis le vin que l’on découvre… la nature reste maître du jeu. Finalement, c’est là que réside toute la beauté de notre nouveau métier !

UN RETOUR À L’ESSENTIEL

Motivés par un retour à l’essentiel, à la nature et au plaisir des choses simples, le vin est pour nous un espace de liberté, de création, d’innovation et de partage. Faire du vin pour faire du vin ne nous intéressait pas. Nous façonnons nos vins guidés par l’instinct ; ce sont des vins attachants, puissants et vibrants d’expression. Clos 58 est pour nous un moyen d’apporter notre pierre à l’édifice dans la mutation du monde viticole.

ENTRE TRADITION
& INNOVATION

Cultiver nos vignes dans le respect de l’environnement était comme une évidence. Nous pratiquons une agriculture raisonnée, engagée et durable en développant une culture centrée sur son environnement, alliant tradition et innovation. C’est pourquoi nous veillons à préserver les sols, les cours d’eau et bien entendu la biodiversité dans sa globalité.

Nous voulons développer une gestion viticole moderne, reflet de l’agriculture biologique avec un seul mot d’ordre : donner toute sa chance à la nature sans la brusquer, avec le moins d’interventions humaines possibles. Nous ne faisons qu’accompagner le cycle de la vigne. Nos pratiques sont inspirées des méthodes de la biodynamie. Chacune des étapes de l’élaboration de nos vins est réfléchie de façon à être en osmose avec l’environnement qui nous entoure afin de traduire l’expression la plus juste de notre terroir. Des vins d’exception qui caractérisent notre aventure, notre Clos 58.

Menu